Members of the Ethnic Communities’ Council of NSW welcomed their newly elected Board of Management

by Esther Lozano - Tuesday, 5 November 2019

A new Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, and a number of new board members were welcomed to the Ethnic Communities’ Council of NSW during the 2019/2020 Annual General Meeting, held on Sunday 3rd November at the ECCNSW, Waterloo office.  

During his speech, the newly elected Chairperson Mr Peter Doukas thanked the members for the opportunity to lead and represent the organisation in what he expects will be a new era of change. 

“I was humbled and privileged to be elected unopposed as Chair of Ethnic Communities Council of New South Wales. This is a role that I do not take lightly and the role and responsibility and stewardship that it involves”.
Multiculturalism in Australia is under direct threat and the role of the Council has never been more important. I am grateful for the support of the dedicated group of volunteers and staff within the Council to assist in addressing the significant challenges. I have also committed to reforms within the organisation and will be looking forward to working with our member base to that effect as well”. Stated Mr Doukas, Chairperson of the Ethnic Communities Council of NSW. 
Newly appointed Deputy Chair, Fiona Mouhtaris joins Mr Doukas in accepting to take onboard one of the organisations two leading roles. The two leaders will be part of a new generation steering the organisation into the future. Mrs Mouhtaris affirming their work together will be one of leadership and change. 
"I am looking forward to working with the new Chair and the members of the Board. Together we will work hard to ensure that ECCNSW’s history and success will not only continue but will see a new era of change under the leadership of a progressive and forward thinking Board” Mrs Mouhtaris said.
Elected to the Board this year are Joshua Moses from the Jewish Board of Deputies as the new Youth Chair, Ada Cheng from the Australian Nursing Home Foundation, Albert Vella from the NSW Federation of Community Language Schools, Amir Salem representing the Egyptian and Arabic speaking communities, Indarjit Khuman representing the Indian Subcontinent, and Anthony Alexandrou from the Cypriot community. They join returning members Glen Falkenstein, Tasha Vanos OAM,  Sam Pashalis,  Maria Georgiou, Jack Passaris OAM,  Emanuel Valageorgiou, Christine Lynch OAM and Marta Terracciano - Immediate Past Chair.
The ECCNSW also welcomes the 39 members who join the ECCNSW Members’ Forum. 
‘Congratulations to my fellow members who have been elected to the Board and members who have joined the Members’ Forum. I look forward to working with you all in what is to be an exciting road ahead”
“Our aim as always is to further the Australian multicultural story and to that end I look forward to tackling the challenges and embracing the leadership of the largest multicultural peak bodies in the largest state in Australia” stated Mr Peter Doukas, Chairperson of the ECCNSW.